THE BLOG, updates

update : “The Real Basil Rathbone”

Update on this post – the Boswelling blog has very graciously and honestly retracted its comments and removed the post in question. I’m leaving the post here as it has a lot of comments, but I’m closing further discussion

Well, it seems Alyssia has a fan…

http://boswelling.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/the-real-basil-rathbone/

“…I just wanted to say, my faith in humanity has been somewhat restored. The fantastic AlyssiaBasilOne has created a blog called “The Real Basil Rathbone: The true life of a great actor and a wonderful man.”

http://therealbasilrathbone.wordpress.com/

I am very much excited by this – finally, someone is standing up for Basil Rathbone’s honor! Please go take a look and support her!…I am so happy. I could kiss her. Let’s celebrate…

Hmmm. Let’s recap. What Alyssia has done is make a lot of unverified claims. She claims to have his diary but refuses to provide photographs. She sends me what she says is a photographed page that turns out to be a Word doc in a cursive font. She tells contradictory stories of how she got the diary and even what the diary itself is supposed to say. And whenever she’s asked for proof she runs away.

I just think when Basil’s fans begin endorsing this behavior as “standing up for his honor” they really need to think about the company they are keeping.

Ok – normal service will now be resumed 🙂

45 Comments

  1. the countess says

    Rebeka I just took a longer look at your blog. Love your gifs. I dont think your a religus fanatic at all! And I’m a Trekie too.Live long and prosper.

    Like

      • GRETCHEN says

        Call me weird, but I’ve always thought Leonard Nimoy was HOT…especially with those pointy ears and frowny eyebrows. 🙂

        Like

        • the countess says

          Umm… Spock would make IMHO a good friend,ditto for Kirk,Dr Mcoy is very avuncler,he would be my 1st choice to tell my troubles to and a shoulder to cry on.,but for hot..Scotty can check out my warp drive.And Paval can beam down with my landing party any old time.

          Like

        • Started watching Trek in ’66…fell for Spock…the ears…and the “coolness”. Even took a “Logic” class in HS…

          Like

  2. the countess says

    OH dear I hope you didnt think I was calling YOU a Nazi,I was comenting on your post on your blog that had Col Klink all happy and jumping and on LeBeau and Newkirk kissing over it.That was the only time I ever looked at your blog. The Nazi I was refering to was Col Klink..If I hurt your fellings I’m so sorry.I never thought you were a Nazi,I’ve linked to Peppe Le Pew,on here so hopefull nobody thinks I’m a skunk.Gosh I humbley appolige if you took what I said wrong.I swear I did’nt mean it that way.

    Like

    • GRETCHEN says

      You know, ironically, the actor who played the Nazi Colonel Klink (Werner Klemperer) was himself of Jewish descent, and his family came to the U.S. from Germany in 1935—likely due to this fact—and because of other political issues going on in Germany at that time, including the lack of jobs and lowered-value of their currency.

      Like

    • oh! oh it’s okay! Don’t worry about it I get that now. I was of course a little flustered and hurt when I read all this, so my comment was a tad testy. Honestly, it’s totally fine *hug*
      Just so y’know, the reason I used those gifs at the time was because I’d just become a fan of Heroes like, a week before 😀

      Like

  3. Just so you all know, I’ve taken down my post because I now realize it is possible that Alyssia could be wrong (which means I could be wrong too.) I was merely acting on the evidence I had then, now I have more/different evidence. I think it would be kind of Neve if you would take this post down or revise it at least, because I don’t think it’s very nice for everyone to make mean comments about me and even attack my religious beliefs. That is simply wrong.

    Also, I want to thank KMC for her lovely, gentle comment, because that was very kind of her to be understanding like that! *hug*

    Call me stupid, call me childish, call me a Nazi, call me what you want, but I’d rather meet Basil in heaven and have him tell me I believed him too much than too little.

    Like

    • Hey Rebekah – I don’t think anyone attacked your beliefs any more or less than you attacked (by implication) things others believe or have said – but never mind about that now. It’s always a brave thing to say you might have been wrong, and doing it in public like this, to a bunch of people who never agreed with you, is especially gutsy. Not sure I’d do it. So I tip my hat to you for that. And I appreciate the honesty. – I will revise the post in the next few days.

      Welcome btw. It’s nice to have you back. 🙂

      Like

      • I know I’m not perfect, and I’ve learned to admit it, even when it is hard. Perhaps I was a little too angry, but so were some of the people here. It’s one thing to attack my opinion, but one person said “If you look at Boswelling’s blog – she’s a religious fanatic. They are never very honest with themselves or anyone else. Note – I don’t mean religious people are not honest. I mean FANATICS are not honest.” I resent that very much. I’ve got strong convictions, yeah, but I’m not a fanatic. I’m not even sure where she got the idea I was a fanatic. I’ve only posted very general stuff about religion and how Christians ought to deal with grief on my blog.

        But never mind about that. Thank you for being willing to revise the post. It means a lot.

        Oh, and thanks for having such a great blog. Obviously I don’t agree with everything on here, but the other stuff is always very nice to see. :0) I’m glad I’m back too. I want to make sure I don’t get bitter or anything. That’s no good, of course :0)

        Like

    • Mikufan says

      A Nazi? o_o
      Why would you be a….
      Never mind. 😀 Glad you feel better.

      Like

    • You’re welcome. You see…I’ve been a fan all my life…and I’m not ashamed to own to it. I’ve met most of my friends through fandom…got to know them through our shared interest…then found we had more in common. I’ve met a lot of fascinating (brilliant, funny, sad and slightly scary) people through my various fannish interests…and learned a lot about human nature.

      What’s bothering me about what I’ve read on Alyssia’s site, is that she does not perceive BR as a human being…to her he is some sort of mythical amalgamation of the qualities she wants to see in him. And no one could possible be as perfect as she insists that he was. As much as I’ve admired his work, I’ve always known that he was a man, with faults and frailties as any other man. As young as I was when I read his autobio, I could sense that his marriage to Ouida was not perfect by any means, but whatever his reasons…he stayed with her.

      Like

      • GRETCHEN says

        You’re spot-on about Alyssia, KMC! 🙂

        Basil was a pretty average guy—sexually, emotionally, and spiritually; and he had the basic needs, desires, and failings of ALL men. I think that’s what makes him SO attractive. Because he was just a “regular” person, he doesn’t seem intimidating or unapproachable.

        Sadly, there was also a LOT wrong with him, when it came to his mental-issues. However, in spite of this, I’d have to say he was still well-balanced enough that with time (and some psychiatric assistance), he’d have been on his way to a healthier, happier, life……SANS Ouida, of course.

        Although NO one’s marriage is without its troubles and misfortunes, the Rathbones’ was filled with MORE than an “unfair” share of them—at least, when it came to Basil’s share! 😦

        Like

      • See, it’s odd, when I read Basil’s autobiography I was overcome with how wonderful his relationship with Ouida seemed… My mom read it too, and she thought the exact same thing. I guess it’s just different people sense different things. *shrug*

        But I know that at first for me Basil was definitely something of a god, but I mean, I was only 14, that’s what happens when you’re young like that. Of course, over time I have come to realize he was not a perfect man – he had his flaws, so does everybody. There are tons of things I disagree with him about too – spiritually and morally and such. But I still love him to death! 😀 and I always will

        Like

  4. Ellen Foley says

    A certain someone had stated that she’d never have anything to do w/a certain Baz website once,but yet,here we get the usual b.s. about Saint Ouida and their love eternal.There are nolies from those who back up their claims with factual material.Someone else has repeatedly had opportunities to present her claims/facts and repeatedly fails to put their money where their mouth is.They’ve been called many times and refuse or are just unable to back their claims.Yes with proper mental health care/treatment,OR would prob be different.Interesting she seemed to only appreciate BR after he passed.She,OR,said Cyn died of cirrhosis,if I remember a prev posting.Many causes of cirrhosis,many non-drug/alcohol related.Now there’s a great increase of fatty liver disease due to obesity/poor diet leading to liver failure.My father had heart (Cong Heart Failure) related cirrhosis.And he was no drinker.I wander off the topic,but OR deserves no defending here,her actions were attrocious,cheating hubby or not,she was well taken care of,and no doubt would be after divorce.Did she think of Marian after Baz started divorce proceedings?I doubt it,just had her eye on the prize,forever after in H’wood splendor,hot & cold running servants.I’ll take the Beverly Hillbilly types anyday,they were as honest as day is long (before Daylight Savings,anyway).Anyone really buy that much into H’wood publicity dept that they were eternally happy couple is seriously fooled by false images.Money spent on her lavish parties should’ve been spent more sensibly on the near future.OR didn’t make friends,she stepped on the wrong toes,esp her husband’s.

    Like

  5. Oh dear. Here’s the thing; fans (and I am wildly generalizing here) have a tendency to place the object of their fandom (passion, admiration, adoration, etc) up on a pedestal. We love and admire them, they are perfect in our eyes…they can do no wrong. And everything is fine…until the beloved object is discovered to be human…with all the faults, frailties, and feet of clay of any other human. And that can be a shock to the fan, because it is in itself very human to want to have something sure and..”perfect”…in our lives. It gives us a sense of security…it’s “safe”. And when the object of our admiration falls..or jumps…or is pushed off the pedestal; some fans simply can’t..or won’t…accept that the person that they have invested so much of their time and emotional energy into is just as human, and fallible, as they are themselves.

    So what does the fan do? Some will get angry at the formerly beloved object, complain to any that will listen about the great “sin” of the object not being who they thought they were i.e.: not perfect, will turn away from the object…and after a suitable “mourning period”, will find a new object to idolize.

    Some will insist that anything negative they find out about the object has to be a lie, and will defend to the death their belief in their idol’s perfection. They can’t/won’t accept that the object of their devotion can be any less than perfect, for any number of reasons, including the fact that it would make them doubt their own judgement and perceptions.

    And then there’s the rest of us who, possibly after a few shocks to our systems along the way, come to understand that just because we admire, revere, and or simply appreciate someone’s work, doesn’t mean that the person we admire isn’t just as human…and full of faults…as the rest of us. So we learn not to put them up on pedestals in the first place.

    I’ve been a “fan” all of my life, and spent years in “active” (fan clubs, conventions) fandom…I’ve met all types of fans…including many examples of the ones above. I’ve found that the fans who enjoy fandom most are the ones who have learned to accept, and even appreciate, the humanity…with all it’s bumps…in the people they admire.

    Like

    • Ellen Foley says

      Sorry,KMC,I may have said some of same things you stated so much better.Was a little put out by arguments of how perfect our gent & the Mrs were as married couple.I know it’s not my business,but IAOOC was HIS book,not Ouida’s,and for her to “edit” is a disservice to his fans.And forcing him to earn in movies he considered subpar,not allowing his friendship (Chris Plummer) to continue,contact w/Rodion and his family,SHE’S AN EVIL TROLL (OR,that is).No,I’ll say what I think,that’s so unbecoming a Catholic,or Christian for that matter.I agree,she prob converted to Catholic,wonder if Geo Fitz was a Catholic,still could’ve married in Church if divorced before Fitz marriage,or did Ms Branch lie about that 1st marriage.

      Like

    • GRETCHEN says

      KMC—good comment! 🙂

      (I think Alyssia falls into the category mentioned in your 3rd paragraph.) 😉

      I’ve never been a “fan” of anyone, myself; I just care a LOT about certain people I come across in life…Basil was one of those people. The fragile, damaged souls; the hurting ones—those are the people I identify with, and try to help and/or pray for. The imperfections and humanness within someone is what ATTRACTS me to them the most (this includes those I would possibly consider dating)……if they were actually “perfect”, they’d be FAKE to me.

      I don’t put my fellow humans on “pedestals”, because they’re ME…and, I’m THEM—we ARE one-another. I don’t put God on a pedestal either, ’cause even He doesn’t want to be “idolized”, but more-so, LOVED and respected. (His Son Jesus was a person like us, too…that’s why He came here in our own form—so as NOT to be “blindly” worshipped, feared and adored; but rather, listened-to and understood by others who saw Him as one like themselves—friendly, real, and non-threatening.)

      I’ve always found it quite ODD that so many people tend to “follow” others as though they are some kind of “deities”. These are usually the weak-minded lemmings that are supposedly “in love” with a musician, singer, actor, TV personality, etc., but in reality only “love” whom they want to BELIEVE these people are. They seem to have this strange compulsion to “fall for” every celebrity that’s considered “cool” or “in style” at the time. Yet, if they ACTUALLY cared about these people, they would be truly concerned for their health and well-being; and, for their happiness—FAR above their mere “entertainment-value”.

      EVERYBODY is one of God’s kids, so that’s how I view them……EQUALLY. The career-path they’ve chosen in life is of NO importance to me—it’s their SOULS that matter. I’ve never associated someone’s “fame” with relevance to their perceived level of goodness or worth, compared with another. Each of us is given precious gifts to share with the world in our own special way. For some, it’s singing, acting, art, music, dance, etc. For others, it’s becoming a doctor, lawyer, firefighter, police officer, or serving in the military. These people ALL work together to make our world the wonderful, varied place it is; and, to provide needed and beloved services to our communities.

      If a person has to “idolize” other people in order to find meaning in their OWN life, then they mustn’t HAVE a life! 😦

      Like

    • thank you for your kind, gentle, loving, and understanding comment. It was really hard to read all the nasty things that were said about me… then when I read yours, it made me feel better. Thanks *hug*

      Like

  6. Nanette B. says

    This is almost laughable! Boswell person – if you look at the stats in “About Me” at the top of the blog – is a young, naive 17 years old. I suspect Alyssia is also young, naive and hasn’t lived much of life like many of us here have. Suggestion is to ignore these naive, inexperienced individuals as they haven’t a clue as to what they’re talking about and may not until they’re at least 50. Let’s get on with the show and gather info for a respectable and accurate biography of Basil Rathbone. Isn’t that what we’re all here for????

    Like

    • Mikufan says

      Hey! I’m 13, and I’m not like that! ;_; (Well I might be a bit, but not when it comes to Basil.)

      Like

  7. Thomas Dekker says

    If you look at Boswelling’s blog – she’s a religious fanatic. They are never very honest with themselves or anyone else. Note – I don’t mean religious people are not honest. I mean FANATICS are not honest.

    Like

    • GRETCHEN says

      Yeah…I have a feeling Alyssia’s one of those “religious fanatics”, too.

      I mean, could a SANE person actually “believe” that Basil NEVER swore, NEVER slept-with or loved ANYONE but his wives, NEVER considered sex as ANYTHING more than for the purpose of “procreation within marriage”, NEVER had “indecent thoughts”, NEVER suffered from PTSD, could NEVER have even POSSIBLY been bi-sexual, etc.??

      SERIOUSLY! I think she’s basically got some pretty EXTREME, over-the-top “purist” ideals which SHE happens to follow, and has somehow decided to “project” those ideals onto Basil (whom she’s probably got an affinity for)—pretending HE was as perfect as SHE wants him to have been, so she can find him to be an “attractive and acceptable” person, who conforms to HER standards.

      That’s some SICK stuff, I’m tellin’ ya!! 😮

      Like

    • I’m curious to know why you think I’m a fanatic? I’ve only posted very general stuff about religion like how Christians ought to deal with grief and stuff like that on my blog. I’ve got strong convictions, yeah, but I’m not a fanatic. :0)

      Like

      • GRETCHEN says

        Rebekah—I too am a “non-fanatical” Christian. 🙂

        Perhaps Thomas’ comment above was in response to what HE perceives you are, when in reality, you’re nothing of the kind. Some people are very sensitive to others’ ways of expressing their religious beliefs; they can misunderstand someone’s statement about faith, and might assume it means “fanaticism”.

        Just a thought. 😉

        Like

  8. the countess says

    I’m not atacking anyone. As you all know I have on more then 1 time stood up for Alyssia.Saying she has a right to what she belives..that is also NOT an endorsement of her belife.Alyssia..if it talks like a duck and it walks like a duck..on the other hand..goose..steping But honstly I agreed about the other link..so it seems at least 1 out of 1 Nazi Comandat likes it. And Newkirk and Le Beau are having a wonderfull kissing fest over it..and Sargent Shultz claims he knows NOTHING about it .Smiley winking smiley

    Like

    • rosebette says

      Images of actors depicting Nazi clowns do not really compose much of an endorsement!

      Like

  9. It strikes me that Alyssia must be rather young. It is always a liberating moment when we get to the realization that people don’t have to be perfect for us to like them. Nothing in those letters made me think that Basil was anything less than a basically decent, honorable man, trying to do the best he could in an impossible situation. The same goes for Madame X. In fairness to Ouida, perhaps she would have been a different person if she had had access to present day therapy. In the end, we all just muddle on through the best we can.

    Like

    • Alyssia says

      Thanks. I’m 36 years old. And I’m not responsible for what some other person writes on their blog about me. I can’t help it if others are seeing through the lies being peddled here

      Like

      • GRETCHEN says

        I’m 38…and, I was MORE mature, empathic, open-minded and knowledgeable about people—especially Basil—than YOU “think” you are, when I was 5! 🙂

        Oh, and as for: “..others are seeing through the lies being peddled here”……that’s RIGHT, Alyssia, we ARE!! 😉

        Like

  10. Ellen Foley says

    OR needs no defending,and BR was never attacked except in the minds of those nitpickers who don’t fully listen to what’s actually been said here.Neve and Marcia don’t need to defend what is really the truth to those of us who really suspected a lot of publicity put out by his queen,her royal hinnyness.If he needs to be defended it’s for his choice to divorce Marian and marry that cold fish when he could’ve had someone who loved him for himself and prob have a much happier life.The only decent thing madam queen OR did was chase down a child,CYN and adopt her.But she loses after that by using Cyn as a bargaining chip vs her husband that she supposedly loved & sacrificed for.

    Like

  11. Gee! If only Basil would have had the fantastic fan coverage he has now … any piece of gossip that comes up … he might have been a bigger star and not gone out in poverty and “Hillbilly’s in a Haunted House”.

    Like

  12. rosebette says

    I wasn’t aware that Basil’s honor was attacked on this site, unless being a human being is dishonorable.

    Like

    • the countess says

      I havent atacked it have you? I’d be the 1st person to stand in front of him.I havent atacked Weedy ..I’m just shineing a light in dark corners to see what spiders run out. What is truth.

      Like

  13. Roberta says

    I’m not staying out of it. What an improper thing for Boswell to say. She comments here quite regularly. I read her blog. For her to go behind NeveR’s back with that “finally someone is standing up for Basil” nonsense is just nasty, and considering she is talking about Alyssia, it’s also ridiculous. NeveR deserves the thanks and support of all Basil’s fans for what she’s done here. She’s the one standing up for Basil, not Alyssia and her “diary”. Thanks Boswell. Won’t be bothering to visit you for a while.

    Like

  14. Claude Rains says

    This boswelling sort is Alyssia, right? I mean there can’t be two of em? CAN there” 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.